• Reduce text

    Reduce text
  • Restore text size

    Restore text size
  • Increase the text

    Increase the text
  • Print

    Print
PhD Eating quality of beef produced in low-input grassland systems. How to predict it?
Reference
1532436423
Deadline for applications
11/01/2018
Date of publication
07/24/2018

Details

Details on the type of contract
PhD contract
Duration of contract
36 months
Beginning
12/01/2018

Remuneration
1770 euros (gross salary), 1423 euros (net salary)

Assignment

Name of unit of assignment
UMR1213 UMRH Unité Mixte de Recherche sur les Herbivores
Address of unit of assignment
INRA Site de Theix 63122 SAINT-GENES-CHAMPANELLE
Website of unit of assignment
http://147.99.156.182/Intranet/web/UMRH/en
Region of assignment
Auvergne Rhône-Alpes

Description

Working environment

UMR1213 Herbivores is a joint research unit associating Inra and VetAgro Sup. It contributes to the design of sustainable farming systems for herbivores that seek to reconcile production efficiency, product quality and socio-economic viability with environmental protection and valuation, and animal welfare. UMR1213 Herbivores assesses both on-farm practices and predominant and alternative systems of herbivore farming, and proposes innovative techniques with high environmental value. To achieve this aim, UMR1213 Herbivores analyses and integrates the underlying biological mechanisms, and establishes laws for animal responses with approaches ranging from high-throughput techniques to modelling and decision support tools for various stakeholders (producers, consumers, citizens, and policy-makers).

 

The Unit is divided into 5 research teams including PERAQ team (“Farming Practices, Robustness, Adaptation and products Quality”). PERAQ objectives are:

-          To phenotype and quantify the adaptive responses of animals when experiencing changing and limiting environments during their production cycle and over their lifetime, with a focus on nutritional challenges. PERAQ identifies productive, physiological, and metabolic indicators with a view to characterize the overall robustness of the animal. Such an assessment is to be used for phenotyping animals for selection purposes, and for improving farming practices.

-          To study how the diversity of individuals within a herd contributes to maintain the performances and the robustness of the herd when facing disturbances of diverse natures, intensities and durations. The ultimate goal is to identify, determine and elaborate farming practices that can increase animal and herd robustness.

-          To analyze, predict and evaluate the effects of farming practices and their combination or organization in time on the performance of animals and herds, and the overall quality of their products. PERAQ takes into account the interactions between genetics and technological processes. The overall quality of products is addressed by combining nutritional, sensorial, technological and sanitary aspects of milk and dairy products, carcass and meat, at animal and herd levels. The ultimate goal is to authenticate the conditions of production and to develop indicators and innovative tools for the prediction of product qualities.

This project aims to deliver robust carcass grading for prediction of beef eating quality for the first time in France, especially in the case of low-input grassland livestock systems, in order to contribute to a scientific model for the prediction of beef eating quality that could be implemented in the future as a commercial grading model in Europe.

To achieve this, we have designed two innovative organic experimental systems based on grass feeding, either following crossbreeding of an hardy breed with an early maturing breed or with a combination of cattle and sheep in the same pastures. Beef will be sampled from these animals. Then, consumer tests will be performed according to the MSA (Meat Standards Australia) protocol: untrained consumers will score two cuts (internal flank plate and topside [adductor femoris]) for tenderness, juiciness, flavour liking and overall liking. They will also assign a quality rating to each sample: ‘unsatisfactory’ (2*), ‘satisfactory everyday quality’ (3*), ‘better than everyday quality’ (4*) or ‘premium quality’ (5*). Optimum equations will be determined to predict the quality class (2*, 3*, 4* or 5*) from the measured traits (tenderness, juiciness, flavour liking and overall liking) (Legrand et al., 2013 Animal, 7, 524–529 and 2017, Innovations Agronomiques, 55, 171-182). In addition, sensory attributes will be also evaluated by test panels to assess correspondence between tenderness, flavor and juiciness by trained panelists and untrained consumers. Finally, muscle biochemical traits (e.g. intramuscular fat level, muscle fiber types, and characteristics of the connective tissue) will be measured to determine their contribution to beef eating quality in the specific case of low-input grassland livestock systems.

Furthermore, depending on the skills and the background of the student, genetic markers associated with the variability of beef eating quality will be identified for all phenotypes directly measured or predicted using the MSA grading scheme. One major output will be used to demonstrate the ability of MSA in selecting reproductive animals of high eating quality potential and thus to be used in the future in livestock genetics breeding programs.

Training and skills required

Engineer or master (or equivalent) in Animal Sciences or in Food Sciences

The PhD candidate should have a strong background in animal science and in meat science. Knowledge and experience in molecular biology will be greatly appreciated.

The PhD should have worked a few months in a research laboratory at least for his Master degree.

The PhD candidate should be fluent in French and English, and able to interact with different scientists and partners (including farmers, butchers from slaughterhouses, and private beef companies). Therefore, a great autonomy of the candidate will be appreciated. Finally, the PhD candidate should also have skills and experience in statistics.

Contact

Name
Jean-François HOCQUETTE
Email
jean-francois.hocquette@inra.fr

• Réduire le texte

    Réduire le texte
  • Rétablir taille du texte

    Rétablir taille du texte
  • Augmenter le texte

    Augmenter le texte
  • Imprimer

    Imprimer
Thèse Comment prédire la qualité sensorielle de la viande bovine issue d’élevage herbagers à faible intrants ?
Référence
1532436423
Date limite pour postuler
01/11/2018
Date de publication
24/07/2018

Caractéristiques

Précision sur la nature du contrat
Contrat de thèse
Durée du contrat
36 mois
Date de début de contrat
01/12/2018

Rémunération
1770 euros (salaire brute), 1423 euros (salaire net)

Affectation

Nom de l'unité d'affectation
UMR1213 UMRH Unité Mixte de Recherche sur les Herbivores
Adresse de l'unité d'affectation
INRA Site de Theix 63122 SAINT-GENES-CHAMPANELLE
Région de l'unite d'affectation
Auvergne Rhône-Alpes

Descriptif

Environnement de travail

Description de l’unité et de l’équipe d’accueil :

L’UMR 1213 Herbivores est une unité mixte de recherches associant l’Inra et VetAgroSup. L’unité conduit des recherches pour un élevage d’herbivores économiquement et environnementalement performant, valorisant des fourrages et d'autres ressources non compétitives avec l’alimentation humaine, et en phase avec les attentes sociétales (bien-être animal, qualité des produits).

L’UMR1213 Herbivores évalue à la fois les pratiques d’élevage prédominantes et alternatives, et propose des techniques innovantes à haute valeur environnementale. Pour atteindre cet objectif, l’UMR1213 Herbivores analyse et intègre les mécanismes biologiques sous-jacents et établit les lois de réponse des animaux avec des approches allant des techniques à haut débit aux outils de modélisation et d'aide à la décision pour les différents acteurs (producteurs, consommateurs, citoyens et décideurs).

L’unité est divisée en 5 équipes de recherches incluant l’équipe PERAQ (“Pratiques d’Élevage, Robustesse, Adaptation et Qualités des produits”).

Les objectifs de l’équipe PERAQ sont de : ·

-          Phénotyper et quantifier les réponses adaptatives des ruminants dans des environnements changeants et limitants au cours de leur cycle de production et de leur vie, notamment lors de perturbations nutritionnelles. L’équipe identifie des indicateurs zootechniques, physiologiques et métaboliques en vue de caractériser la robustesse globale d'un animal. Cette évaluation globale sera utilisée pour phénotyper les animaux à des fins de sélection et pour améliorer des pratiques d’élevage.

-          Étudier si et comment la diversité des individus au sein d’un troupeau contribue à améliorer la robustesse du troupeau lorsqu’il est soumis à des perturbations inattendues de différentes natures, d’intensité et de durée variables. L’objectif est d'identifier et de concevoir les pratiques d’élevage les plus à même de gérer la diversité au sein des troupeaux et d’améliorer leur robustesse.

-          Analyser, prédire et évaluer les effets de pratiques d’élevage et de leur combinaison ou de leur gestion dans le temps sur la performance des animaux et des troupeaux et sur la qualité globale de leurs produits. L’équipe PERAQ prend en compte les interactions entre la génétique et les processus techniques. La qualité globale des produits est abordée dans ses dimensions nutritionnelles, sensorielles, technologiques et sanitaires (lait et produits laitiers, carcasse et viande) aux niveaux de l'animal et du troupeau. L’objectif est d'authentifier les conditions de production et de développer des indicateurs et des outils novateurs pour la prédiction de la qualité des produits.

 

Missions et activités confiées :

 

L’objectif de ce projet est de développer, pour la première fois en France, un classement robuste des carcasses pour la prédiction de la qualité gustative de la viande bovine, en particulier dans le cas des systèmes d'élevage herbagers à faibles intrants, afin de contribuer à un modèle européen scientifique voire commercial de prédiction de la qualité en bouche de la viande bovine.

Pour ce faire, nous avons conçu deux systèmes expérimentaux innovants basés sur l'alimentation à l’herbe des animaux, soit après croisement d'une race rustique avec une race précoce, soit avec une mixité d’espèces (bovins, ovins) en systèmes d’élevage herbagers. Des échantillons de viande seront prélevés sur les animaux. Ensuite, des tests consommateurs seront effectués selon le protocole MSA (« Meat Standards Australia ») : des consommateurs non entrainés noteront deux pièces de boucherie (bavette d’aloyau et tende de tranche [adductor femoris]) pour la tendreté, la jutosité, le goût et l’appréciation globale. Ils attribuent également une classe de qualité à chaque échantillon : « insatisfaisant » (2*), « bon pour tous les jours » (3*), « meilleur que le quotidien » (4*) ou « excellent » (5*). Des équations optimales seront déterminées pour prédire la classe de qualité (2*, 3*, 4* ou 5*) à partir des critères mesurés (tendreté, goût, jutosité, appréciation globale) (Legrand et al., 2013 Animal, 7, 524-529 et 2017, Innovations Agronomiques, 55, 171-182). De plus, la qualité gustative de la viande sera évaluée par analyse sensorielle avec un panel d’experts afin de comparer la tendreté, le goût et la jutosité par des experts et des consommateurs non entraînés. Par ailleurs, les caractéristiques biochimiques musculaires (par exemple, le niveau de gras intramusculaire, les types de fibres et les caractéristiques du tissu conjonctif) seront mesurées pour déterminer leur contribution à la qualité gustative de la viande dans le cas spécifique des systèmes d'élevage herbagers à faibles intrants.

Enfin, en fonction des compétences et de l’expérience du/de la candidat(e), des marqueurs génétiques associés à la variabilité de la qualité de la viande bovine seront identifiés pour tous les phénotypes mesurés directement ou prédits en utilisant le système de notation MSA, afin de sélectionner des animaux reproducteurs ayant un potentiel élevé en matière de qualité gustative de la viande pour leur utilisation ultérieure dans les programmes de sélection génétique des bovins.

Formations et compétences attendues

Formation recommandée (diplôme + spécialité) : Ingénieur ou Master (ou équivalent) en Sciences Animales ou Sciences des Aliments
Connaissances souhaitées (domaines à connaître) :

Il est souhaité que le candidat ait une solide expérience en sciences animales et en sciences des viandes. Des connaissances et une expérience en biologie moléculaire seront grandement appréciées.

Expérience appréciée (durée + domaines) :

Il est souhaité que le candidat ait travaillé quelques mois dans un laboratoire de recherche notamment à l’occasion de son stage de fin d’étude.

Aptitudes recherchées (qualités) :

Le candidat devra parler couramment le français et l'anglais et être en mesure d'interagir avec plusieurs scientifiques et différents partenaires (y compris des éleveurs, des bouchers dans les abattoirs et des entreprises privées de viande bovine). Par conséquent, une grande autonomie du candidat sera appréciée. Enfin, le candidat devra également avoir des compétences et de l'expérience en analyses statistiques.

 

Transmettre une lettre de motivation et un CV à Jean-François HOCQUETTE

Contact

Nom
Jean-François HOCQUETTE
Email
jean-francois.hocquette@inra.fr