Engineer in quantitative genetics / Phenotyping : Genetic analyses of functional traits and plant performance measured in a phenotyping platform and in a network of field experiments
Reference
1506418375
Deadline for applications
11/10/2017
Date of publication
09/26/2017

Details

Details on the type of contract
Temporary assignment
Duration of contract
18 months
Beginning
12/01/2017

Professional field
Biology

Assignment

Name of unit of assignment
UMR0759 LEPSE - Écophysiologie des Plantes sous Stress environnementaux
Address of unit of assignment
INRA - 2, place Viala - 34060 MONTPELLIER CEDEX 2
Region of assignment
Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées

Description

Working environment

Ongoing projects have generated a large multi-scale dataset that characterizes the genetic variability of yield and underlying traits as a response to drought and high temperatures in a maize panel of 250 lines/hybrids, genotyped with 900k SNPs. These data originate from 30 field experiments, six experiments in the phenotyping platform PhenoArch and -omic measurements (metabolites, transcripts of aquaporins and of florigens). Novel traits are calculated from these data, for instance the sensitivity of leaf growth to water deficit or of yield to temperature, light interception in the field and in platform experiments, stomatal conductance or radiation use efficiency. Composite variables derived from -omic measurements are also examined.

 

The work will consist in analyzing the genetic architecture (GWAS) of these traits by using scripts developed at INRA - Le Moulon and Wageningen-Biometris, in particular in fulfilling the following objectives:

 

(i) Perform meta-analyses of QTLs , multi-traits analyses and use models with covariables, thereby analysing the colocalization and coordination between traits.

(ii) Perform genetic analyses of novel traits resulting from model-assisted analyses of the dataset (in collaboration with modellers of the group).

(iii) Functional analysis of QTLs via the dependence of allelic effects on environmental conditions / other QTLs, haplotypic analyses, analysis of the phenotype of Near Isogenic Lines with introgressions of allelic diversity in genomic regions of interest in common recipient line (depending on the progress of (i) and (ii)).

 

This work will be part of an effort, at group level, to establish genetic models allowing prediction of yield of a large number of genotypes in current and future conditions in different European regions. This will be performed by combining genetic, statistical and crop models. We shall in this way test the comparative advantage of different combination of alleles in different sites and climatic scenarios.

 

Context : Day-to-day work with a geneticist, in interaction with several members of the group (PhD students and post-docs). Close relationship with INRA Le Moulon and Wageningen Biometris. Relationship with geneticists of breeding companies partners of our projects.

 

Skills

Good skill for mixed models and R language.

Knowledge in Genetics and/or Ecophysiology, first experience in any of these domains (Ph D thesis or first engineer experience).

Good level in English and, if possible, French.

Training and skills required

Skills

Good skill for mixed models and R language.

Knowledge in Genetics and/or Ecophysiology, first experience in any of these domains (Ph D thesis or first engineer experience).

Good level in English and, if possible, French.

 

 Supervision : Claude Welcker claude.welcker@inra.fr & François Tardieu françois.tardieu@inra.fr

 

Millet et al. 2016.Plant Physiology172: 749-764 ; Cabrera-Bosquet et al 2016.New Phytologist212 : 269-281 ; Turc et al. 2016.New Phytologist212: 377-388 ; Lacube et al 2017.Plant Cell Environment40 : 2017-2028.

http://www1.montpellier.inra.fr/ibip/lepse/equipes/mage.htm

https://www6.montpellier.inra.fr/lepse/M3P

https://amaizing.fr/

Contact

Name
Claude Welcker / François Tardieu
Email
claude.welcker@inra.fr; françois.tardieu@inra.fr

Ingénieur en génétique quantitative / Phénotypage (H/F) : Analyse génétique de caractères fonctionnels mesurés en plateforme de phénotypage et de performances au champ
Référence
1506418375
Date limite pour postuler
10/11/2017
Date de publication
26/09/2017

Caractéristiques

Précision sur la nature du contrat
Mission temporaire
Durée du contrat
18 mois
Date de début de contrat
01/12/2017

Domaine professionnel
Biologie

Affectation

Nom de l'unité d'affectation
UMR0759 LEPSE - Écophysiologie des Plantes sous Stress environnementaux
Adresse de l'unité d'affectation
INRA - 2, place Viala 34060 MONTPELLIER CEDEX 2
Région de l'unite d'affectation
Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées

Descriptif

Environnement de travail

Les projets Investissement d’Avenir Amaizing et Agropolis Florimaize ont généré un corps de données multi-échelle caractérisant la variabilité de caractères clés impliqués dans la réponse à la sécheresse et aux températures élevées pour un panel de 250 lignées/hybrides génotypés avec 900k SNP. Ces données proviennent de 30 champs expérimentaux en Europe, de six essais dans la plateforme de phénotypage PhenoArch et de mesures "omiques" (métabolites, transcrits d'aquaporines et de florigène). Des caractères nouveaux sont calculés à partir de ces données, par exemple la sensibilité de la croissance foliaire et du rendement au déficit hydrique, l'interception lumineuse au champ et en plateforme, la conductance stomatique ou l'efficience de conversion de la lumière en biomasse. Des variables composites dérivées des mesures "omiques" sont aussi analysées.

 

Le travail consistera à analyser l'architecture génétique (GWAS) de ces caractères en utilisant des scripts développés à l’INRA du Moulon et à Wageningen-Biometris, en particulier en suivant les objectifs suivants :

 

(i) Des méta-analyses de QTLs, analyses multi-traits et utilisation de modèles avec covariables permettant d'analyser la coordination entre caractères.

(ii) Des analyse génétiques de caractères nouveaux résultant d'analyses assistées par modélisation, en collaboration avec les modélisateurs de notre groupe.

(iii) Analyse fonctionnelle de QTLs, analyses des effets haplotypiques en fonction des conditions environnementales, analyse du phénotype de lignées quasi isogéniques portant l’introgression d’allèles exotiques dans des régions génomique d’intérêt (suivant la progression des points i et ii).

 

Ce travail servira, dans l'équipe, à établir des modèles génétiques permettant de prédire le rendement d'un grand nombre de génotypes dans les conditions actuelles et futures de différentes régions européennes. Ceci sera mené en combinant des modèles génétiques, statistiques et fonctionnels. Nous testerons ainsi les avantages comparatifs de différentes combinaisons d'allèles dans des scenarios climatiques divers.

 

Contexte : Travail quotidien avec un ingénieur de recherche, en interaction avec plusieurs membres de l'équipe (doctorants et post docs). Relations suivies avec les unités INRA du Moulon et de Biométrie de Wageningen (NL), ainsi qu'avec un laboratoire de Physiologie de Milan (It). Relations avec des généticiens de compagnies semencières partenaires des projets.

Formations et compétences attendues

Compétences recherchées

Le travail requiert un bon niveau de maîtrise des modèles mixtes et du langage R .

Formation de base en génétique et/ou en écophysiologie et première expérience dans l’un des deux domaine (ingénieur ou thèse).

Anglais indispensable.

 

Encadrement : Claude Welcker claude.welcker@inra.fr & François Tardieu  françois.tardieu@inra.fr

Millet et al. 2016.Plant Physiology172: 749-764 ; Cabrera-Bosquet et al 2016.New Phytologist212 : 269-281 ;

Turc et al. 2016.New Phytologist212: 377-388 ; Lacube et al 2017.Plant Cell Environment40 : 2017-2028.

http://www1.montpellier.inra.fr/ibip/lepse/equipes/mage.htm

https://www6.montpellier.inra.fr/lepse/M3P

https://amaizing.fr/

Contact

Nom
Claude Welcker / François Tardieu
Email
claude.welcker@inra.fr; françois.tardieu@inra.fr